Behind the lines

Behind The Lines – Contemporary Art from Syria is an itinerary exhibition. The exhibition hosts 20 artists with just over 90 works across multiple formats including video, photography, painting and sculptures.

Exhibition at Penticton Art Gallery, Penticton, BC, Canada
July 8 – September 11, 2016

Exhibition at Duncan United Church, 246 Ingram St, Duncan, BC, Canada
November 27 – December 3, 2016

 Exhibition at Brentwood College School,  Mt Baker Rd, Mill Bay, BC, Canada
December 10 – 17, 2016

Exhibition at Yukon Art Center, College Drive, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
December 08, 2016 – February 25, 2017

Exhibition at Gallery at The Military Museums , University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
October 12, 2017 – January 7, 2018

Syrian Artists: Ethical Witnesses From Behind the Lines

In the midst of a conflict that has gripped the entire world, a connection created through art is bringing Penticton and Syria closer together.

Humam Alsalim, a Syrian architect, founding member of SYRIA-ART and co-founder of the Cyrrus Gallery, an online art gallery for young, contemporary Syrian artists is co-curating the latest exhibition at the Penticton Art Gallery.

Behind The Lines – Contemporary Art from Syria is a traveling exhibition. The exhibition hosts 20 artists with just over 90 works across multiple formats including video, photography, painting and sculptures.

The art is an inside look into the minds of those affected by the devastating war, including 20 artists from the Syrian art scene are represented:

Painting: Omran Younis, Obaidah Zorik, Huda Takriti, Reem Tarraf, Maiesam Mallisho, Fadi Al Hamwi, Mahmood Al Daoud, Alaa Sharabi, Juhayda AlBitar, Mohammad Zaza, Lina Malki / Sculpture: Khaled Dawwa,  Ali Almeer  / Photography: Khaled Youssef, Khaled Akil,  Ammart Khadour / Digital Art: Humam Alsalim, Rami Bakhos /  Video Art: Fadi Al Hamwi, Huda Takriti

This exhibition aims to explore conflict zones and to see the people of Syria through art. Most of the 20 artists featured here still live in Syria. They come from places made familiar through news reports like Aleppo and Homs. Many are now in Damascus. Some have left Syria altogether.

The works all reference the devastating situation in Syria or are informed by it. Humam Alsalim and Rami Bakhos’ Cultural Beheading series mourns and rages against both literal and metaphorical destruction. The body parts in Omran Younis’s paintings are a graphic reminder of the horrors of war. Those depicted in Lina Malki’s Displaced series have a palpable sorrow. Fadi al-Hamwi’s large paintings of X-rayed cow hybrids discloses the brutal animality of the human and how war provokes and exposes the dark side of humanity. Khaled Dawwa’s clay sculptures that appear to be vandalized or corroded by time are informed by his own experience: He was injured in a 2013 bombing, then arrested, imprisoned, and now exiled. Khaled Youssef’s photographs of bubbles are tragic in their fragility yet childlike, as the artist says, “Make bubbles not war”.

This exhibition is not for the faint of heart, but it also affirms the incredible capacity of the human spirit to not only survive the most unimaginable circumstances, but thrive. For those still living in Syria there are few opportunities to exhibit and as such they have nothing left to lose and are making art for the sake of art. Individually and collectively their powerful work stands as a testament to their existence and hopefully will inspire similar voices not only in Syria but also here in Canada. This exhibition is meant to build a greater understanding of the Syrian People, their art, rich culture, history and the turmoil their country is undergoing.

The exhibitions are curated by:

– Paul Crawford, Penticton, British Colombia, Canada, www.pentictonartgallery.com
– Humam Alsalim, Damascus, Syria, www.Cyrrusgallery.wordpress.com ; Founding Member SYRIA.ART – Association pour la Promotion de l’Art Contemporain Syrien, syriaartasso.com

Exhibition at Penticton Art Gallery, Penticton, BC, Canada
July 8 ‒ September 11, 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Exhibition
at Duncan United Church, 246 Ingram St, Duncan, BC, Canada

November 27 – December 3, 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Exhibition
at Yukon Art Center, College Drive, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Dec 08, 2016 – Feb 25, 2017

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Exhibition
at Gallery at The Military Museums , University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada

October 12, 2017 – January 7, 2018

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Behind the lines

Behind The Lines – Contemporary Art from Syria est une exposition itinérante. L’exposition héberge 20 artistes syriens avec un peu plus de 90 œuvres de multiples média, y compris vidéo, photographie, peinture et sculpture.

Exposition à Penticton Art Gallery, Penticton, BC, Canada
8 juillet – 11 septembre 2016

Exposition à Duncan United Church, 246 Ingram St, Duncan, BC, Canada
27 novembre – 3 décembre 2016

Exposition à Brentwood College School, Mt Baker Rd, Mill Bay, BC, Canada
10 -17 décembre 2016

Exposition au Yukon Art Center, College Drive, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
08 décembre 2016 – 25 février 2017

Exposition à Gallery at The Military Museums, Université de Calgary, Alberta, Canada
 12 octobre 2017 – 7 janvier 2018

Syrian Artists: Ethical Witnesses From Behind the Lines

Au milieu d’un conflit qui affecte le monde entier, une connexion créée par l’art contribue à rapprocher Penticton et la Syrie.

Humam Alsalim, architecte syrien, membre fondateur de SYRIA-ART et co-fondateur de la Galerie Cyrrus ‒ une galerie d’art en ligne pour les jeunes artistes contemporains syriens ‒, est le co-curateur de cette dernière exposition de la Penticton Art Gallery.

Behind The Lines – Contemporary Art from Syria est une exposition itinérante. L’exposition héberge 20 artistes syriens avec un peu plus de 90 œuvres de multiples média, y compris vidéo, photographie, peinture et sculpture.

20 artistes de la scène syrienne sont représentés :

Peinture : Omran Younis, Obaidah Zorik, Huda Takriti, Reem Tarraf, Maiesam Mallisho, Fadi Al Hamwi, Mahmood Al Daoud, Alaa Sharabi, Juhayda AlBitar, Mohammad Zaza, Lina Malki / Sculpture : Khaled Dawwa,  Ali Almeer  / Photographie : Khaled Youssef, Khaled Akil,  Ammart Khadour / Art numérique : Humam Alsalim, Rami Bakhos / Art video : Fadi Al Hamwi, Huda Takriti

Cette exposition vise à explorer les zones de conflit et à découvrir les habitants de la Syrie à travers l’art. La plupart des 20 artistes présentés ici vivent encore en Syrie. Ils proviennent de lieux rendus familiers grâce à des reportages comme sur Aleppo ou Homs. Nombre d’entre eux vivent à Damas. Certains ont quitté la Syrie définitivement.

Les œuvres se référencent toutes à la situation dévastatrice en Syrie ou elles ont été influencées par elle. La série « Décapitation Culturelle » (Cultural Beheading) de Humam Alsalim et Rami Bakhos se lamente et enrage tant contre la destruction littérale que métaphorique. Les corps morcelés dans les peintures d’Omran Younis sont un rappel graphique des horreurs de la guerre. Les personnages représentés dans la série intitulée « Déplacés » de Lina Malki témoignent d’une douleur palpable. En figurant des vaches hybrides passées aux rayons X dans ses peintures de grand format, Fadi al-Hamwi met en scène l’animalité brutale de l’humain et comment la guerre provoque et expose le côté obscur de l’humanité. Les sculptures en argile de Khaled Dawwa qui semblent avoir été vandalisées ou être corrodées par le temps sont influencées par sa propre expérience : il a été blessé lors d’un bombardement en 2013, puis arrêté, emprisonné et maintenant exilé. Les photographies de bulles de Khaled Youssef sont tragiques dans leur fragilité pourtant enfantine, et, comme le dit l’artiste, « Faisons des bulles, pas la guerre ».

Cette exposition n’est pas pour les cœurs sensibles, cependant elle affirme également la capacité incroyable de l’esprit humain, non seulement à survivre aux circonstances les plus inimaginables, mais aussi à prospérer malgré tout. Pour ceux des artistes qui vivent encore en Syrie, il n’y a que peu d’occasions d’exposer leur art, et, en tant que tel, ils n’ont plus rien à perdre et font de l’art pour l’amour de l’art. Individuellement et collectivement, leur œuvre puissante est le témoignage de leur existence, et, espérons-le, inspirera des voix similaires, non seulement en Syrie, mais aussi au Canada. Cette exposition est destinée à une meilleure compréhension du peuple syrien, de son art, de sa richesse culturelle, de son histoire et de la terrible tourmente que traverse leur pays.

Ces expositions sont organisées par :

– Paul Crawford, Penticton, British Colombia, Canada, www.pentictonartgallery.com
– 
Humam Alsalim, Damascus , Syria, www.Cyrrusgallery.wordpress.com ; Membre fondateur de SYRIA.ART – Association pour la Promotion de l’Art Contemporain Syrien, https://syriaartasso.com 


Exposition à Penticton Art Gallery, Penticton, BC, Canada

8 juillet – 11 septembre 2016

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.



Exposition au Brentwood College School,
 Mt Baker Rd, Mill Bay, BC, Canada

10 -17 décembre 2016

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.



Exposition au Yukon Art Center,
College Drive, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

08 décembre 2016 – 25 février 2017

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.



Exposition à Gallery at The Military Museums,
 Université de Calgary, Alberta, Canada

12 octobre 2017 – 7 janvier 2018

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.